The business of the association is conducted by a Council elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in March each year. All ATESOL NSW financial members are welcome to stand for Council. This commitment involves attending up to eight Saturday morning meetings per year and volunteering to assist with ATESOL NSW events, action research and advocacy initiatives throughout the year.

Council Meetings for 2021:

Meeting 1 - 20 February
Meeting 2 - 15 May
Meeting 3 - 19 June - cancelled
Meeting 4 - 17 July
Meeting 5 - 21 August
Meeting 6 - 16 October
Meeting 7 - 20 November
Meeting 8 - Christmas Social (details to be confirmed)

All Council meetings take place on a Saturday at 10:00am at the University of Sydney (currently being held via Zoom).

If you are a financial member and would like to attend our next meeting or add any matters for discussion to the meeting agenda, please email:

Council Members for 2021:

Executive Committee


Cindy Valdez-Adams

Vice President
Margaret Turnbull

Gillian Pennington

Secretary & Registrar
Janet Freeman

Other Council Roles

ACTA Councillors
Cindy Valdez-Adams, Margaret Turnbull, 
Michael Michell (Immediate Past President)

MEAG Representative
Michael Michell

Ethnic Affairs Representative
Janet Freeman

Newsletter Editors
Glenice Aiken, Marina Pearce

Secondary EAL/D Matters
Margaret Wajs

Professional Learning Coordinator
Kathy Rushton

Communications Officer/Website
Melanie Davies

Public Officer
Margaret Turnbull

Other Councillors
Robyn Johnson, Caitlin Park, Bess Wassman

ATESOL NSW Inc. © 2018-2021
ABN 45 769 925 602

Professional Teachers' Council:
PO Box 699
Lidcombe NSW 1825
P (02) 9716 0378
F (02) 9564 2342